seven in the south and two in the north, with regional offices located in nine major municipalities. At present the two northern regions coincide with the Northeastern and Northwestern Divisions.

The primary function of the enterprise is to provide electric power by generation or purchase, and through a province-wide network of transformation and transmission facilities, to deliver this power either for resale by the associated municipal utilities or for use by some 200 industrial customers served directly by the Commission. This aspect of operations represents about 90 p.c. of the Commission's energy sales. The municipal utilities, in their turn, administered by local commissions and functioning under the general supervision of the Provincial Commission as provided for in the Power Commission Act and the Public Utilities Act, own and operate their own distribution systems to serve ultimate customers in most cities and towns, in many villages, and in certain township areas. Energy sales representing the remaining 10 p.c. of the Commission's total are carried out through Commission ownership and operation of distribution facilities. These facilities provide retail service on behalf of the various townships to ultimate customers in the rural areas of the province, and similar service to customers in a limited number of municipalities supplied by what are known as "Local Systems". Since 1944 the Commission's rate structure applying to rural customers designated as farm, hamlet, commercial and summer service has been uniform throughout the province.

The growth of the Commission's physical and financial resources reflects the remarkable industrial and social development of the province. In 1914 the Commission purchased its first generating station, Big Chute on the Severn River. Later in the same year the first Commission-built generating station was placed in service at Wasdell Falls, also on the Severn River. This early program of purchase and construction of generating stations reached a climax in the great Queenston-Chippawa development, later renamed Sir Adam Beck-Niagara Generating Station No. 1 in honour of the first Chairman of the Commission. This station first delivered power in 1922 but four years later the Commission found it necessary to negotiate for the extensive purchase of power from large Quebec suppliers in order to satisfy Ontario's steadily growing power demands—demands that have continued to increase over the years.

The extensive construction program undertaken since the end of World War II has included the development of three stations on the Ottawa River with a combined capacity of 699,000 kw.; the construction of Sir Adam Beck-Niagara Generating Station No. 2 and its associated pumping-generating station on the Niagara River where 1,370,000 kw. of capacity have been installed; and the construction of Robert H. Saunders-St. Lawrence Generating Station on the St. Lawrence River. The St. Lawrence development is the last major hydraulic development in the Southern Ontario System. Initially placed in service in July 1958, it will be completed with an installed capacity of 820,000 kw. in 1960. During the same postwar period more than 400,000 kw. have been developed at nine hydro-electric sites in northern Ontario. Additional sites in the north are being developed, and others will be developed from time to time as the changing economic situation may require.

At the same time an aggressive program is being carried on for the construction of thermal-electric stations. This program, already well begun with the placing in service of large stations in Toronto and Windsor between 1951 and 1953, now includes a second large thermal-electric development, Lakeview Generating Station near Toronto, and the initial installation of a 100,000-kw. unit at a station in Fort William to be known as Thunder Bay Generating Station. Meanwhile the Richard L. Hearn Generating Station in Toronto is being expanded to three times its present 400,000-kw. capacity.